Fight the Good Fight

IMG_1922.JPG

I am in love with Lecrae’s new single featuring Tori Kelly, any one else out there? If you haven’t listened to it yet, here is the youtube link.

The chorus goes like this:

Just fight a little longer my friend
It’s all worth it in the end
But when you got nobody to turn to
Just hold on, and I’ll find you
I’ll find you
I’ll find you
Just hold on, and I’ll find you

Change is like having a rug ripped out from underneath your feet. You wobble, you sway from side to side, you wonder if you are going to keep your balance or if you’re going to fall flat on your face. I feel like most of us end up on the ground – the instability of our circumstances becoming too much for us to bear and we cave in, no longer able to keep our balance.

And you know what? It hurts to fall! There’s this sinking feeling in your stomach right before you hit the ground when you know that you won’t be able to catch yourself and that it is going to hurt. You scrape your knees and bruise your elbow (and probably your ego as well). Once you hit the floor, you sit there for a moment stunned – it wasn’t supposed to happen like this, it wasn’t supposed to hurt this badly.

This is where most of us give up. I know that I have so many times in the past. If things get a little too hard or a little too unknown, instead of getting back up, I crawl away. I don’t even get back up, I just hobble away on my hands and knees. This time, I have been determined to give it all I have got. Being in DC has not been easy. Things have not gone as planned, I’m not sure how I’m going to pay for it all and I don’t know anyone here. But I’m going to fight a little harder. I am not giving up my dreams without a fight.

There’s another part of Lecrae’s song that I really like:

They say fear haunts
And pain hates
I say pain strengthens
And fear drives faith
And I don’t know all of the outcomes
Don’t know what happens tomorrow
But when that ocean of doubt comes
Don’t let me drown in my sorrow
And don’t let me stay at the bottom
I feel like this hole is too deep to climb
I’ve been lookin’ for a way out
But I’ll settle for a peace of mind
Picking up the pieces of my life and hopin’ that I’ll put together something right
Tell me all I got is all I need
Tell me you gon’ help me stand and fight

You and I – we have to keep pushing forward. We have to keep getting back up. We have to show people what we are made of. This is how people are going to see that our love is real and our faith is strong. It’s time for us to stop giving up so easily and show the world that we are stronger than what it throws our way. We are stronger than the voices of hate and our inward insecurities.

YOU ARE STRONG and YOU CAN DO THIS. I believe in you.

 

 

Songwriters: Daniel Majic / John Mitchell / Justin Franks / Lecrae Moore / Natalie Sims / Sasha Sloan / Victoria Kelly
I’ll Find You lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC
Leave a Reply

