Hope in the New Year

This is it…2015 is here! No other year like it in history. I find that a lot of people don’t like New Years. It can seem like just another day of the year or an ending to a great era. It can be depressing if one hasn’t accomplished anything that they had hoped to accomplish. Me, I love New Years Day. In fact it is usually one of my favorite days of the year. The thought of beginning a new year brings one word to mind: hope. Hope for new opportunities that will help me grow into the person I am supposed to be. Hope that this year will be better than the last. Hope that I will change for the better and through the process of my own transformation, I will make the world around me a better place. 

It is easy to focus on what we had in the past. The new year means that another part of our life is ending and with it comes good memories of the adventures we have had, the friends that we have made along the way and the obstacles we have overcome. But it is also an opportunity to look at what lies ahead. My one question for myself each year as I write out my list of resolutions is will I be brave enough to go through with them? Will I be willing to make a change? Change can be hard if we are clinging to what we have always been comfortable with. But if I am really willing to take a risk and try something new, than I know the change that comes with it will be worth it in the end.

Leave a Reply

